Friday, 4 May 2018

P.J. Proby - Three Week Hero [SBD]

Repost. Why? I'll tell ya; This is something all Led Zeppelin fans eventually realize is a real thing. Not a myth, not a dream, not an old made-up story that has been passed down threw the generations. It actually exists!! ...just sayin'

P.J. Proby
'Three Week Hero'
(1969 Liberty LBS 83219 U.K.) 

Soundboard Recordings
Encoded: 192 Kbps MP3

P.J. Proby (vocals)
*Jimmy Page (misspelled “Paige”) (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, pedal steel guitar)
*John Bonham (drums, percussion, congas)
*Robert Plant (harmonica, tambourine, vocals)
*John Paul Jones (bass, keyboards, arrangements)

Three Week Hero is an album Recorded September 1968 at Olympic Studios, London, released by rock singer P. J. Proby on 8 April 1969, by Liberty Records. The album contains a mixture of dramatic pop, blues, rock, and country style songs, a departure from Proby's trademark pop sound of the 1960s. While it did not succeed commercially, it is best remembered today as the first time all four members of Led Zeppelin recorded together in the studio, which revived interest in the recording. Proby recollects: ‘Come the last day we found we had some studio time, so I just asked the band to play while I just came up with the words. ... They weren't Led Zeppelin at the time, they were the 'New Yardbirds' and they were going to be my band’.

Jimmy Page had previously sessioned on 1964-05-15 with session guitarist Big Jim Sullivan for Proby on his biggest success 'Hold Me', which reached number 3 in the UK charts. Other sessions soon followed for 'Zing! Went the Strings of My Heart', 'Stagger Lee', 'Linda Lu', 'Rockin' Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu', and 'Hanging from Your Love Tree'. Due to poor managerial and investment advice, Texan-born Proby was declared a bankrupt in the United States in 1967, and decided to try his luck in the United Kingdom by relocating there in 1968. Members of Led Zeppelin were invited to participate after John Paul Jones had already pre-booked the session as a commitment prior to August 1968. The medley 'Jim's Blues'/'George Wallace Is Rollin' In This Mornin'', features all four members with Robert Plant playing harmonica and tambourine. 'Today I Killed a Man' reached number 13 on the Dutch singles chart, an American Civil War song ostensibly redirected towards the Vietnam War. Many of the ideas behind these songs would be revisited on the Family Dogg's 1969 album A Way of Life, whose members appeared as backing singers, and this release was also produced by Steve Rowland.
The song 'Sugar Mama' recorded by Led Zeppelin at Morgan Studios in 1969, is not the same 'Sugar Mama' recorded on this album.

Track List: (Artwork Included)
01. Three Week Hero
02. The Day That Lorraine Came Down
03. Little Friend
04. Empty Bottles
05. Reflections (Of Your Face)
06. Won't Be Long
07. Sugar Mama
08. I Have A Dream
09. It's Too Good To Last
10. New Directions
11. Today I Killed A Man
12. Medley: It's So Hard To Be A Nigger / Jim's Blues / George Wallace Is Rollin' In This Mornin'

1 comment:



Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.