Tuesday, 20 June 2017

Eric Clapton [1976.08.03] The Complete Plymouth '76 Soundboard [SBD]

Eric Clapton
'The Complete Plymouth '76 Soundboard'
No Reason To Cry Tour
A.B.C. Cinema, Plymouth, England
Tuesday August 3rd, 1976

Soundboard Recording
Encoded: 320 Kbps MP3


Track List: (Artwork Included)
01. All Our Past Times
02. Further On Up The Road
03. Tell The Truth
04. Ramblin' On My Mind
05. Goin' Down Slow
06. Have You Ever Loved A Woman
07. Stormy Monday
08. Hungry
09. Knockin' On Heaven's Door
10. Innocent Times
11. Blues Power

This one comes out of my own archives and originates from Jamie Oldaker’s reels. A close friend got a number of shows directly from Jamie and I made a copy off his 1st gens in the mid-1980s.

The most commonly circulating versions appear to be either be missing “Blues Power” entirely or it is cut. “Blues Power” is complete here and it’s a scorching albeit somewhat mellow version. I’m not sure if this is the first time “Blues Power” has circulated complete but it is likely the first time from this low of a generation copy.

Eric is full of piss and vinegar on this night, starting the show off by challenging a yelling audience member to “come up on stage and talk about it” followed by some expletives and then telling him “I’ll have you…” This show also immediately precedes the unfortunate political rant at the Birmingham show two nights later which EC ended up writing an apology letter, [which was] printed in the September 11 edition of ‘Sounds’. Something definitely had EC wound up the early part of this tour or perhaps just too much drink. -Original

1 comment:

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.