Thursday, 23 February 2017

Woody Guthrie, Alan Lomax & Friends - Broadcasts 1940+1947 [SBD]

"Hootenanny!!" hahahaa! Luv it!

Woody Guthrie, Alan Lomax & Friends
Hootenanny 1947/New York 1940
Hootenanny, CBS Radio; March 10, 1947
Back Where I Come From, NYC

CBS Radio Aug. 19, 1940
Fairly to very good audio (given their age).

Broadcast Recordings
Encoded: 224 Kbps MP3

Track List: (Artwork Included - Pdf)
Hootenanny (March 10, 1947)
01. Hootenanny intro
02. Intro Part 2 (with Woody, Ida Red, Pete Seeger)
03. Blues All Around My Bed (Brownie McGee & Sonny Terry)
04. talk/Turtle Dove (Hally Wood and Pete Seeger)
05. Summertime (Sidney Bechet)
06. Hard Ain’t It Hard (Woody Guthrie and friends)
07. Talkin Blues (Woody Guthrie)
08. Raise A Ruckus Tonight (Woody & friends)/You May Run On For a Long Time (The Coleman Brothers)
09. John Henry (Woody and friends)
Back Where I Come From (Aug. 19, 1940)
10. Intro
11. Intro Part 2
12. Introduction / The Weather
13. Sign of the Rain (The Golden Gate Quartet)/Er-i-e Canal (all)
14. Woody Guthrie on the subway and the weather
15. talk
16. Woody intro/So Long It’s Been Good To Know You (Woody Guthrie & cast)
17. So Long [cont.] (Woody and cast)/Foggy Dew (Burl Ives)
18. Noah's Ark Sermon (Willie Johnson & The Golden Gate Quartet)
19. So Long [outro] (Woody & cast)

Hootenanny (March 10, 1947):
CBS Radio broadcast features Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Sonny Terry, Brownie McGhee, Eddie Smith, Hally Wood, Sidney Bechet, Pops Foster, Cisco Houston, and the Coleman Brothers with John Henry Faulk as host. Written and produced by Alan Lomax. A mixture of nine songs, influencing folk, blues, gospel, and jazz simulated, as Faulk states, “forty-eight states doing a musical jamboree.” “Raise a Ruckus Tonight” was the theme song with Woody adding a square-dance verse when they ended it as the opening song.

Back Where I Come From (August 19, 1940):
New York City, CBS Radio Forecast Series #10 - This series was an attempt to “try out new radio ideas”. Each program was an introduction to a proposed new radio series. Hosted by Clifton Fadiman, written by Alan Lomax and Nicholas Ray, featuring Woody Guthrie, The Golden Gate Quartet, Len Doyle, Burl Ives, Josh White and Willie Johnson. -Original

1 comment:

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.