Wednesday, 22 February 2017

New Order [1993.08.29] Reading Festival, England [SBD]

New Order
Reading Festival
Little John's Farm, Reading, England
Sunday August 29th, 1993

Professional Soundboard Recording
Perfect Sound Quality
Encoded: 320 Kbps MP3

Most say, the best sounding New Order bootlegs ever.

Track List: (Alternate Artwork Included)
01 Ruined In A Day   
03 Dream Attack   
04 Round & Round   
05 World   
06 As It Is When It Was   
07 Everyone Everywhere   
08 True Faith   
09 Bizarre Love Triangle   
10 Temptation   
11 The Perfect Kiss   
12 Fine Time
13 Blue Monday

This is, as far as I know, the first time the complete show has been distributed, and it's a cracker. Sound quality is superb.
At the time, this gig was regarded by many as New Order's swansong; the fact that a good proportion of the audience thought this might be the group's last-ever gig added a special frisson and atmosphere for those of us who were there. Basically it's the same set as the rest of the (fraught)'93 tour but with, I think, a bit of extra fire.
The show was broadcast in part by the BBC and other networks round the world. However, this BBC CD, taken straight from a broadcast quality CD (complete with reference to a certain pop star currently undergoing a court case for offenses relating to children faded out!) is the complete show with all the songs in the right order. BLT and Dream Attack are particularly rare, not appearing on the well-known Electronic Ecstasy boot, and will probably not have been heard in this quality before. -Original

1 comment:

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.