Saturday, 4 February 2017

Neil Young [1989.12.07] Swinging In The Silence [EX-AUD]

Neil Young
'Swinging In The Silence'
(Golden Nugget : GN 001/002)
The 2 Disc Version
Musichall, Frankfurt, Germany
Thursday December 7th, 1989

Excellent Audience Recording.
Encoded: 320 Kbps MP3

Track List: (Artwork Included)
Disc 1:
101. My My Hey Hey (Out Of The Blue)
102. Rockin’ In The Free World
103. Old Laughing Lady
104. Don’t Let It Bring You Down
105. Someday
106. Crime In The City
107. Eldorado *
Disc 2:
201. Too Far Gone * **
202. This Note’s For You
203. The Needle And The Damage Done
204. No More
205. After The Goldrush
206. Hangin’ On A Limb **
207. Heart Of Gold **
208. Ohio
209. Rockin' In The Free World

Neil Young - guitar, piano, harp, vocals
* Frank “Poncho” Sampedro - guitar, mandolin
** Ben Keith - steel guitar, synthesizer
It’s good that this is an audience recording rather than one from the sound board, for what is lost in quality is more than made up for in atmosphere. You can really hear the excitement in the audience. As a reminder of what a roll Neil was on at the time, it’s extraordinary how rapturously some of the new songs - Rockin’ in the Free World, which had only been released two months previously, and This Note’s for You - are greeted, as though Neil had just played the opening notes of Like a Hurricane. There I was, thinking, “If this were London, with its notoriously been-there-seen-that audiences, the recording might not have been so lively.” But then I dug out my recording of the London gig (December 12, 1989; made with my £29 tape recorder, so you can mostly just hear the reverb of the venue), and actually we were quite lively, too. Damn, it was exciting to be there, with Neil mostly alone on the large stage prowling around with his cap and his radio mic. I still have the T-shirt, tie-dyed and decorated with the CND symbol.

1 comment:

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.