Sunday, 4 December 2016

Smiths, The - Meat Is Murder Live EP (Unreleased) [SBD]

The Smiths
'Meat Is Murder' Live EP (Unreleased)
Apollo Theatre, Oxford, England
Monday March 18th, 1985

Studio Soundboard Recordings
Encoded: 320 Kbps MP3

Track List:
01. William, It Was Really Nothing
02. Nowhere Fast
03. Stretch Out And Wait
04. Shakespeare's Sister
05. Meat Is Murder
06. Miserable Lie
Bonus Tracks:
07. Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others (Live at Brixton Academy, London 12th December 1986)
08. Hand In Glove (Live at Brixton Ace, London, 29th June 1983)
09. Girl Afraid (Live at Queen Margaret Hall, Glasgow, 2nd March 1984)
10. Handsome Devil (Live at The Hacienda, Manchester, 4th February 1983)
11. What's The World? (Live at Caird Hall, Dundee, 26th September 1985)
12. London (Live at National Ballroom, London, 23rd October 1986)

Following the success of the 1985 Meat Is Murder tour, the Smiths started planning the release of a live EP featuring material from the 18 March 1985 concert at the Oxford Apollo. However, plans were scrapped after the test pressing stage, and "That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore" from the most recent album "Meat Is Murder" was released in its place, except in Holland where Megadisc preferred another album track, "The Headmaster Ritual".

The "Meat Is Murder" live test pressings bear the same catalogue numbers as the "That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore" 7" and 12", and have become highly collectible. Two versions of the 7" have made it into the hands of lucky collectors, one with a Mayking label, the other with a pale yellow label. All tracks are sourced from The Smiths Extra Track (and a tacky badge) remaster project. -Original

1 comment:

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.