Saturday, 31 December 2016

Go-Go’s, The [1981.08.31] Emerald City, NJ [FM]

The Go-Go’s
Emerald City, Cherry Hill, NJ., USA
Monday August 31st, 1981

Very Good FM Broadcast Recording
Encoded: 224 Kbps MP3

Track List: (Artwork Included)
01. Skidmarks On My Heart
02. How Much More
03. Tonite
04. Fading Fast
05. London Boys
06. Cool Jerk
07. Automatic
08. Lust To Love
09. Can’t Stop The World
10. This Town
11. Vacation
12. You Can’t Walk In Your Sleep (If You Can’t Sleep)
13. Our Lips Are Sealed
14. Let’s Have A Party
15. We Got The Beat
16. Surfing And Spying
17. Beatnik Beach

The Trouser Press wrote:
Belinda Carlisle (vocals), Jane Wiedlin (guitar, vocals), Gina Schock (drums), Kathy Valentine (bass) and Charlotte Caffey (guitar) earned their historical bragging rights as the victorious pioneer women of American new wave, but their success ultimately meant more to those who followed in their wake than it did to the quality level of rock ‘n’ roll in the early ’80s. Beyond the certified hits (Our Lips Are Sealed, We Got The Beat, Vacation, Head Over Heels and Turn To You, which are great enough to stand behind), This Town, Lust To Love, How Much More and maybe Skidmarks On My Heart are all the Go-Go’s anyone needs to remember. Harsh words indeed… but the tunes remain sweetly enjoyable. Recorded just as the band was making it big… -Original

1 comment:

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.