Thursday, 13 October 2016

Jimi Hendrix - The Complete Winterland Reels (6CD Set) [SBD]

Jimi Hendrix
The Jimi Hendrix Experience
'The Complete Winterland Reels' (6CD Set)
(ATM 208-210/ATM 211-213)
Winterland Arena, San Francisco, California, USA

Thursday October 10th, 1968 (complete 1st & 2nd show)
Friday October 11th, 1968 (complete 1st & 2nd show)
Saturday October 12th, 1968 (complete 1st & 2nd show)

Stereo Soundboard Recordings
Encoded: 320 Kbps MP3

Stereo Soundboard Digitally Restored (except Oct. 11, tracks 5-7, 1st gen AUD recording).
Lineage: 1st Generation Stereo Soundboard Recording (RAW unedited version)
Silver CD > EAC > FLAC FrontEnd (L-8) rburly 11-06-2004 > MP3@320.

Track Lists: (Artwork Included)
Disc 1 - 1st. Show (October 10th, 1968)
00. Jimi interviewed for KNPX*
01. Intro/Tune-up (0:24)
02. Are You Experienced (7:36)
03. Voodoo Child (Slight Return) (7:38)
04. Red House (14:51)
05. Foxy Lady (6:12)
06. Like A Rolling Stone (9:44)
07. (This Is America) Star Spangled Banner (5:27)
08. Purple Haze / Outside Woman Blues (6:01)
Disc 2 - 2nd. Show (October 10th, 1968)
01. Intro/Tune-up (2:28)
02. Tax Free (13:33)
03. Lover Man (4:27)
04. Sunshine Of Your Love (9:09)
05. Hear My Train A Comin’ (12:57)
06. Killing Floor [with Jack Casady on bass] (9:19)
07. Hey Joe [with Jack Casady on bass] (5:31)
08. (This Is America) Star Spangled Banner (6:32)
09. Purple Haze (5:59)

Disc 3 - 1st. Show (October 11th, 1968)
01. Intro (2:02)
02. Are You Experienced [with Virgil Gonsales on flute] (17:05)
03. Voodoo Child (Slight Return) (8:14)
04. Red House (11:50)
05. Foxy Lady (5:44)
06. (This Is America) Star Spangled Banner (6:32)
07. Purple Haze (5:59)
Disc 4 - 2nd. Show (October 11th, 1968)
01. Intro (0:29)
02. Tax Free (Drum & Bass) (20:32)
03. Spanish Castle Magic (11:05)
04. Like A Rolling Stone [with Herbie Rich on organ] (11:32)
05. Lover Man [with Herbie Rich on organ] (5:39)
06. Hey Joe [with Herbie Rich on organ] (5:13)
07. Fire [with Herbie Rich on organ] (4:44)
08. Foxy Lady [with Herbie Rich on organ] (5:13)
09. Purple Haze (5:53)

Disc 5 - 1st. Show (October 12th, 1968)
01. Intro (2:29)
02. Fire (3:47)
03. Lover Man (5:37)
04. Like A Rolling Stone (12:14)
05. Foxy Lady (6:53)
06. Drum & Bass Jam (Noel Redding & Mitch Mitchell) (8:58)
07. Tax Free (8:14)
08. Hey Joe (6:50)
09. Purple Haze (3:39)
10. Wild Thing (3:28)
Disc 6 - 2nd. Show (October 12th, 1968)
01. Intro (1:32)
02. Foxy Lady (8:22)
03. Manic Depression (5:55)
04. Sunshine Of Your Love (9:07)
05. Little Wing (4:40)
06. Spanish Castle Magic (7:06)
07. Red House (12:08)
08. Voodoo Child (Slight Return) (7:02)
09. (This Is America) Star Spangled Banner (4:57)
10. Purple Haze (7:02)

*The interview source is the master reel. A few Jimi traders pooled their money to buy this tape on Ebay last year on the chance it might be something new. And it turned out it was! So lots of Jimi traders chipped in to have the tape baked and transferred to digital. The tape bake & transfer went well except that the start of the tape fell apart, so the first few seconds are much inferior quality. The exact date of the interview is unknown but the guess is it was recorded backstage at one of the October 1968 Winterland shows. -Original

This is an upgrade of ATM 011-016 “Three Nights of Winter”, which was used for the “official” release “3 Nights At Winterland”. The sound of this compared to the 2nd Gen used for ATM 011-016 is somewhat different. This version has more bass and it’s also “dryer” in sound (less reverb) than the 2nd Gen version. An earlier flawed version of this Set is also in circulation. That set, sometimes also known as “Winterland Raw Source” and “A Raw Winter”, suffers from index clicks, DAT clicks and buzzes all throughout, and was leaked to the general public by a mistake. The Clean version (this) has 9 tracks on disc 4 (11.10.68 - 2nd Show) while the flawed version only has 8 (same amount of music, just one less index mark).

The more than six hours of live music assembled here gives Hendrix fans the first opportunity to compare The Experience's live performances. 2-performances per night for 3-days recorded during the band's temporary residence at San Francisco's Winterland arena. Given that these recordings have been assembled from a variety of different sources, the sound quality, with exception of the last 3 tracks on Disc 3, which, as the soundboard tape had mysteriously stopped running, have been taken from a less-than perfect audience recording is excellent, and as usual, Jimi's virtuoso delivery is as varied and unpredictable as ever, as are the technical problems which were invariably the sub-text of the majority of Hendrix concerts.

Extraordinary Archives Traded Material series of the highest quality Hendrix recordings available in traders’ circuits. All recordings in the ATM series are taken from the lowest generation masters available, and they have all been digitally restored unless otherwise indicated. -Original

1 comment:



Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.