Wednesday, 1 June 2016

Beatles, The [1968.05.00] Unplugged (IU 9541-1) [SBD]

The Beatles 
(1995 Invasion Unlimited : IU 9541-1)
Acoustic Demos (Kinfauns : George Harrison's house)
Esher, Surrey, England
May 28th, or 29th, 1968 (At the end of May)

Studio Soundboard Recording
Encoded: 320 Kbps MP3

Track List: (Full Artwork Included)
01. Intro
02. Cry Baby Cry
03. Child Of Nature
04. The Continuing Story Of Bungalow Bill
05. I'm So Tired
06. Yer Blues
07. Everybody's Got Something To Hide Except For Me And My Monkey
08. What's The New Mary Jane
09. Revolution
10. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
11. Circles
12. Sour Milk Sea
13. Not Guilty
14. Piggies
15. Julia
16. Blackbird
17. Rocky Raccoon
18. Back In The USSR
19. Honey Pie
20. Mother Nature's Son
21. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
22. Junk
23. Dear Prudence
24. Sexy Sadie
Bonus Tracks
25. Helter Skelter*
26. Spiritual Regeneration**
27. Rishikesh No. 9**

*Abbey Road, London - June 11, 1968
**Rishikesh, India - April 1968

In late-May 1968 (the exact date not known) The Beatles came together at 'Kinfauns', George Harrison's home in Esher. One by one, first John, then George, then Paul, they recorded 23 of their newest compositions by double-tracking themselves on George's Reel-to-Reel-tape-machine.
These songs, most of, whom where written during the Beatles'two-month-stay on a meditation-course in Rishikesh, India, February - April 1968, were subsequently recorded for the 'White Album'. But not all of them made it onto vinyl and thus remain unreleased (at least as Beatles-versions). Judging by the outcome of this session, it must have been a very sunny and relaxing day. Spring certainly was in the air (and a bit of pot maybe too). Just accompanied by their acoustic guitars John, Paul and George recorded very charming and joyful early versions of their newest tunes. Sometimes slightly out-of-sync with their own double-tracking but who cares ? Spontaneity counts! -Original

1 comment:

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.